BC's Best Shorts


The Vancouver Short Film Festival Society Annual General Meeting took place on Thursday, March 13, 5:30-7:30pm PT at the Alliance for Arts & Culture Boardroom, #100-938 Howe Street in Vancouver, BC.

Vancouver Short Film Festival 2013 Award Winners

For Immediate Release: November 20, 2013

Vancouver Short Film Festival 2013 Award Winners Announced!

VANCOUVER, BC – After screening 21 films and four web series episodes over the two-day festival on November 15-16, the 4th annual Vancouver Short Film Festival (VSFF) wraps up another year of celebrating BC’s best shorts from local filmmaking talent.

At the closing ceremony on November 16 at the Vancity Theatre, over $16,000 in prizes was awarded to BC filmmakers. Misha Kleider’s The Bouake Hustle stole the spotlight with four awards – Best Short Film, Best Director, Best Documentary Short and Best Editing. University of Victoria Department of Writing graduate student Connor Gaston’s Til Death won Best Student Film as well as Best Screenplay for Ryan Bright. National Screen Institute graduate Jeremy Lutter’s Floodplain, took home Best Use of Location and Best Cinematography for Brendan Uegama. Best Female Director went to Carleen Kyle, for her Crazy8s 2012 winner, The Weather Girl, which also won Best Female Actor for Johannah Newmarch. UBC Film Production Student Andrew Pollins’ Backward Fall won the hearts of the audience and took home the Audience Choice Award and also Best Male Actor for John R. Taylor. Best Sound went to Oscar Vargas and Eugenio Battaglia for Darcy Van Poelgeest’s neo-noir CORVUS, and Best FX was awarded to Karen Chapman’s Patriarchy, an experimental spoken word piece that combines live-action - vérité footage and animation.

VSFF 2013 Winners: