BC's Best Shorts

VSFF 2006 Panel

Nathaniel Geary

Nathaniel Geary is a graduate of the Vancouver Film School and Concordia University. After five years of working at the Portland Hotel, a government-funded housing project for disturbed drug addicts, his films have focused on life on the streets of Vancouver's Downtown Eastside. He has received numerous awards for his films and direction at the Yorkton and Vancouver International Film Festivals. His first feature-length film, On the Corner, won the Western Canada Feature Film Award at the VIFF in 2003.

Mark Sawers

Mark Sawers has accumulated an impressive list of credits and awards after writing and directing films for 15 years. He recently wrapped up the half-hour comedy/sci-fi television series, "Alienated," which he created for Chum Television. His film, Shoes Off! won a Best Short Film prize at the 1999 Cannes Film Festival. Lonesome Joe was nominated for a Genie Award for Best Live Action Short Film - his 4th Genie nomination. Other directing credits include the independent feature, Best Wishes, Mason Chadwick, as well as episodes of several television series, including The Kids in the Hall. Sawers has numerous film and television projects in development through his company, Driftwood Productions, including the feature film, Condemned.

Nancy Welsh

Nancy Welsh has co-produced several short films for the Crazy 8s film festival, including Flush, Man Feel Pain (2004) and Fool's Gold in 2006. She has also produced several feature films and currently works as a production manager on TV series and features.

Janine Bizzocchi Steele

Janine Bizzocchi Steele is a former Business Analyst at British Columbia Film. She coordinated applications to British Columbia Film’s direct funding programs, including the Project Development Fund, Slate Development Fund, Professional Internship Program, Passport to Markets Program and the Scholarship Program. Janine graduated from the University of Victoria with a Bachelor of Arts degree in History and Film Studies. She is a past executive for the Board of Women in Film & Television Vancouver, and received the WIFTV Sharon Gibbon Lifetime Member Award in 2007 for her service to the organization. Janine has served on numerous juries locally and nationally, including Summer Shorts, Kickstart, Signature Shorts, the Manitoba Motion Picture Industry Association and the Alberta Motion Picture Industry Association.

Christopher Petry